Galactic Encyclopedia
100th edition, 5002 AD/Federal Year 1011/Serenity Year 2010,
Finis Astra Encyclopedia Corporation

Galactic Standard System for Classification of Planets
by Dr. Henry Banner,
Professor of Astrophysics, Finis Astra University

Classification Types

Worlds are chiefly classified by four criteria:  habitability and composition, mana level position relative to the system's star or stars, and size, although a variety of other classifications are also often used.

Mana levels are discussed in the article, 'Magic'.  Position relative to the star is usually designated by affixing a number in 'Roman Numerals' after the system name, such as 'Anatares IV'.  While most inhabited worlds have a more unique name, those who live outside the system normally use the standard naming designation.  Size is usually designated either by circumference at the equator or by radius.

Habitability and Composition are more complex.  The system is roughly as follows:

Often, multiple designations can be combined.  To give some examples, the Solar System of Earth in 5002 AD can be classified as follows (Only the major worlds are listed here, not all the colonized moons):